Let’s start with the autumn…

I really hate beginnings. I never know what to say, how to act, how to introduce myself properly.

I’m guessing that this is not a very good way to start a blog- or rather a food blog (hopefully)- either, so I think I’ll start with something I do like- Autumn.

Maybe it’s because I was born in October, maybe because in Israel- where I was born, raised, and where I currently reside- the summer is so unbearable that I start desperately seeking out the first signs of fall from the middle of August.

Either way, this past few days have been a real treat for me. Firstly, due to the temperature dropping a good few degrees, and there’s been this great sort of rainy-earthy smell the last few days I woke up for work (4:30 am, mind you). Secondly, it’s holiday season for us- Jewish new year, quickly followed by Yom Kipur, and now we are currently celebrating Sukut (don’t ask…). Now since I graduated in July from high school (yes I know, I’m so young, not even eighteen), those holidays don’t mean a very long break from school, but it does mean a few days off from work- a great reason to celebrate.

All of these fortunate circumstances got me a craving for more of this Autumn-ish air of things. And a few days ago as I watched a batch of gorgeous grapefruit coming my way, all colored in red and orange tones, all I could think about was baking an autumn cake. What’s an Autumn cake and why was there a batch of grapefruits coming my way? A) I didn’t know either, at the time I was thinking about this fantastic looking cake at Peabody’s. B) That’s my job, sorting fruit at a packaging house.

I let my craving go unfulfilled, I had my hands full thinking up and baking up a birthday cake for my sister-in-law, which I will hopefully post about soon, and I’m still trying to conjure up ideas for a birthday cake my father will be able to take with him to the office (I’m leaning in this direction), and one I could make him for his birthday at home. But yesterday, as I was reading updates in some of my favorite food blogs and looking for a cake to bake for the house (we almost never get caught without cake in our house) , I saw someone felt exactly like me, all the way in far, far, Seattle. And since I already detected pears in the fridge earlier that day, and since we always have apple lying around, I decided to go for it.

The willing praticipents

Now I don’t get along really well with rolling out pie crust; it always comes out very un-round, tends to rip, never covers the entire pie tin, etc. This time was no exception, though I could definitely sense some improvement.

Franken-pie

I tried making nice, sort of classic looking openings in the upper crust, but that backfired when I tried to lift and place it on top of my apple mixture. My end result was this poor, roughly patched-up, Franken-pie. But I hope it forgives, and doesn’t come to life in an unexpected thunder storm.

As far as recipes go- I followed this recipe, and mixed some red apple that were lying around in the pantry with some Granny Smith (my favorite). Since there was no recipe for pie crust, and I don’t really have a favorite recipe for this kind of pie crust (non-sweet kind I mean), I used this recipe, which yielded an excellent dough, very easy to work with, except for my rolling/flipping issues which were my own fault and not the doughs’.

The pie turned out delicious, it was my first time making apple pie, and I usually don’t eat them either but I could say I really enjoyed it.

Okay, so that was a first post? I didn’t think it would take me this long, I have to wake up in four hours, so I guess I shall bid you all (invisible, probably non-existing readers), good night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pies and Tarts

Leave a Reply

